Off (of) the Beaten Path

July 16, 2011 § Leave a comment

It is often difficult to break out of my breakfast routine, what with a freezer-full of muffins from Cranberry’s at the ready and Joe the Art of Coffee directly along my morning commute. However, I am always so happy when I do finally manage to stop by a new breakfast spot since then I invariably discover something like this: the almond-cherry scone from Iris Cafe.

Iris is located only two blocks from my house, yet I have been there a mere handful of times over the past year! Perhaps Tazza gives it too much competition? Nevertheless I am generally pleased with both their coffee and pastries and should definitely try to head down the hill more often. While this scone is not my absolute favorite (perhaps due to the marzipan-esque intensity of the almond flavoring), it had lovely soft innards and a beautiful crunchy crust to provide the perfect balance of textures. I would have liked to see more fruit, since the berries played well with the almond bits and livened up an otherwise decent but unimpressive pastry.

I am planning to try more things from Iris in the future, perhaps that tender-looking banana muffin?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Off (of) the Beaten Path at In Pursuit of Sugar.

meta

