New Hood

July 21, 2011 § 1 Comment

I have been spending a fair amount of time in Williamsburg these days and, this morning, just so happened to be walking towards the Graham Ave. L stop when my morning coffee craving hit. It being 100 degrees and all I naturally needed something on ice, and, having seen a welcoming sign the day before advertising “cold brew”, I knew Variety Café would be my spot.

To compliment the coffee (or is it the other way around?) I ordered a blackberry-rhubarb muffin and promptly toted both back to my cozy cubicle. The coffee was great– subtle yet robust and not as bitter as I typically find Stumptown to be. That said, my muffin was a disappointment indeed. Dry, cakey, with only a hint of fruit; this was the type of pastry that gives muffins a bad name. It had so much potential, so much good fruity flavor to share! But alas, the overly-sweetened batter prevailed and I ended up eating only half. A shame indeed, especially for someone like me who enjoys consuming way too much sugar before 10am.

 

Despite this lackluster breakfast, I will definitely be back to try their other flavors and to get a refill on the cold brew. Variety, let’s hope you have some! I look forward to further interactions.

§ One Response to New Hood

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Hood at In Pursuit of Sugar.

meta

