New Monster

November 29, 2011 § 1 Comment

There’s nothing like the Thanksgiving long weekend to really put life back into perspective. Generally it involves some travel (for me, a whopping 15 minute drive “south”), rest, and time with old friends and/or family, the combination of which generally heads to self-reflection. You can’t help but notice what has changed since the last holiday, those people and things that have impacted you in the most enduring and profound ways.

This year, I came to terms with one of my lost loves whose presence has sadly been missing from my life since the summer. It’s name, as you might recall, is Monster:

That’s right, I miss my favorite cookie. And yes, it exists in two different bakeries within a 20 minute bike ride (or G train trip!) of my new apartment, making this melancholy all the more ridiculous. But I am stubborn, and perhaps lazy, and for whatever reason I just haven’t gotten around to returning to the old haunts. The city is large and worth exploring! Therefore imagine my immense pleasure upon discovering a new Monster at one of my favorite delis in Greenpoint, Brooklyn Standard.

Although they share the same name these baked items seem much more like cousins as opposed to identical (or even fraternal) twins. Where Tazza’s version is hefty, good for a full meal if not several, the Greenpoint variety is lighter with much less butter. This new Monster seems more like a trail bar or GORP’M bound by oats than a cookie and for this reason I considered it to be excellent post-breakfast fodder. While perhaps no match for the original Monster, my new friend definitely satisfies the craving. And apparently there is another relative at El Beit? Let the adventures continue.

§ One Response to New Monster

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Monster at In Pursuit of Sugar.

meta

